Boat Drinks


A phrase that is uttered during really bad times to refer to the good times that will come afterwards, times that will include sunshine, nice people, and yellow drinks with umbrellas. From the movie “Things to Do in Denver When You’re Dead”.

Two guys are changing a flat tyre in blistering cold at three in the morning. One of them looks at the other and says:

“Boat drinks man, boat drinks”

The other one looks up, nods and concludes:

“Yeah. Boat drinks.”

Rum Highball

113530_f260

• 2 oz Captain Morgan’s spiced rum

• Splash of Tonic water

• Lime

Add Captain Morgan’s spiced rum to a glass full of ice. Add a splash of tonic water. Rim glass with lime. Drink. Repeat.

It doesn’t get much simpler than that.

Boat drinks
Boys in the band ordered boat drinks
Visitors scored on the home rink
Everything seems to be wrong

Lately, newspaper mentioned cheap air fare
I gotta to fly to saint somewhere
Im close to bodily harm

Twenty degrees and the hockey games on
Nobody cares they are way too far gone
Screamin boat drinks, something to keep em all warm

This mornin, I shot six holes in my freezer
I think I got cabin fever
Somebody sound the alarm

Id like to go where the pace of lifes slow
Could you beam me somewhere mr. scott?
Any ol place here on earth or in space
You pick the century and I’ll pick the spot

Oh I know, (I know)
I should be leaving this climate
I got a verse but can’t rhyme it
I gotta go where it’s warm

Boat drinks
Waitress I need two more boat drinks
Then Im headin south fore my dream shrinks

I gotta go where it’s warm (I gotta go where it’s warm)
I gotta go where it’s warm (I gotta go where it’s warm)
I gotta go where it’s warm!

I gotta go where there aint any snow
Where there aint any blow
Cause my fin sinks so low
I gotta go where it’s warm – Jimmy Buffett

2 thoughts on “Boat Drinks

Leave a Reply

