If At First You Don’t Succeed….


Scream at your neurologist.

This is what my neurologist failed to tell me about Keppra:

Very few people have serious reactions to Keppra. If you take it, you should be aware of them, however, so you and your family can recognize them. If you notice any of these symptoms, call your doctor right away:

  • decreased ability to cope with daily life events
  • depression
  • thoughts of suicide
  • severe anxiety, agitation, or confused thought

It is important to remember that only a tiny number of people who take Keppra have any serious problems.

Keppra’s gotta go. The bummer part of changing it is that it controlled my seizures so well. I’ve tried and tried to deal with the “serious” side effects of it, but to no avail. So, I went back in yesterday and he gave me Zonisamide. The “serious” side effects of this? A potentially life threatening skin rash, kidney stones and/or a rare form of anemia. Not much mention of mood issues like the last two. That’s reassuring.

Lucky for me I’ve also been diagnosed with pathological determination. Although, I’m wondering why they can’t come out with a drug to control seizures that elevates your mood, makes your hair shiny, your skin soft and adds 10 points to your IQ.

I told my friend today that I feel bad because he has never known me when I have not been struggling with medication issues. Neither had JJ or many of my other friends. It makes me wonder what “self” really is. It makes me wonder what anyone really should base friendship or love on.

If this doesn’t work, my next option, the doctor says, is a surgical implant. A sort of brain pace-maker. It makes me wonder if I could tune into NPR with that.

_________________________________________________________________

The best news is that there are not complications with alcohol for Zonisamide.

Eggnog (The side effects of this are well known and pleasant.)

4 cups milk758677
5 whole cloves
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
12 egg yolks
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 1/2 cups light rum
4 cups light cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Combine milk, cloves, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, and cinnamon in a saucepan, and heat over lowest setting for 5 minutes. Slowly bring milk mixture to a boil.
In a large bowl, combine egg yolks and sugar. Whisk together until fluffy. Whisk hot milk mixture slowly into the eggs. Pour mixture into saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly for 3 minutes, or until thick. Do not allow mixture to boil. Strain to remove cloves, and let cool for about an hour.
Stir in rum, cream, 2 teaspoon vanilla, and nutmeg. Refrigerate overnight before serving.

Leave a Reply

