Aliya Marie and The Brothers Jim


My friend came down from Bellevue last night and we went to see Aliya Marie and The Brothers Jim at Kitzel’s Jewish Deli. Oly works in a weird way. There aren’t really “happenings” in here, but things are always happening. You walk downtown, you see a neighbor, someone mentions something that is advertised on only one telephone pole, or some calendar at a little hole-in-the-wall-place – this is how you find the good stuff. It’s a lot like going somewhere in India, actually. There are no signs, just the guy standing on the corner to tell you where to go. Also, unlike Seattle, a lot of the really good shows are all-ages and during the week.

It’s difficult for my friends who live out of town because there is so much going on all the time in Seattle/Bellevue, then they ask, “well, what is there to do in Oly?” and my answer has to be, “I don’t’ know. Let’s find out.” Pretty uninspiring. But my friend A felt like he needed to get away. I have to thank him, because, although it was a small gesture it was important to me. I felt, for the first time in a while, some balance in my life – why that is should probably be another post. Back to the music.

I have been thinking about how music affects us for quite a while because I have an interesting note (pun intended….sorry) on my epilepsy. I have what is called synesthesia when I have a seizure. This is where your brain gets it signals mixed up and your other senses interpret music, color, or taste. I see music. One of the very first things I noticed when I began taking medication is how different music sounded. I didn’t see it anymore, it was flat, lifeless. Thinking perhaps I was just bored, I went out and found a bunch of new music. But it all sounded the same. Then I had a seizure and Lyle Lovett and his Large Band album happened to be on. It was suddenly like Sex, Salvador Dali and the best dinner I have ever had, all at the same time. (Thanks Lyle.)

brain-and-music

I’ve been following Dr. Daniel Levitin for a while now. He is a former musician who decided on a career change and went back to school to become a Neuroscientist. He has some interesting research on the how music affects your brain. http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=50136651n After watching this little snippet, I decided that perhaps in my quest to fix my brain on drugs, I should add a little night music. After all if it help Gabby Giffords, why wouldn’t it help me?

276406_514928125193462_617400036_nSo, to make a short story a little shorter, my friend and my son and I grabbed two beers and a chocolate milk and enjoyed the music. It was truly an all ages event with attendants ranging from 8 to somewhere in the vicinity of 68. An Indi-folk singer, Aliya has an etherial but still earthy voice. She’ll be at the Copper Gate in Seattle on the 15th of December. In all the chaos and glitz of advertisements in Seattle, you might miss a little note somewhere advertising this show. But my friends, I know many of you. I would highly recommend the show – you don’t need synesthesia to enjoy her music.

2 thoughts on “Aliya Marie and The Brothers Jim

  1. One day I’m going to convince my friend to log in so I don’t have to post her comments for her. 🙂

    “My dad was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s 4 years ago, a brilliant engineer who traveled the globe, provided the solution for the three mile island situation, traveled more than he didn’t, was now forced into retirement. He was also a life long musician, his math and music deeply intertwined. I tried to get my parents, my mom more since she took over as head of household and decision maker, to try alternative therapies and also keep up his music, which would help his brain and memory function. Unfortunately they didn’t really do either, and though we’ll never know for sure, I can’t help but wonder if things would be different today, or at least delayed more for him in his progression if they had done both?

    Luckily my parents, who were lifelong musicians, and my husband who is a self taught musician today, (and even I played piano for ten years and used to have some talent) have passed that on to my girls. They just get music, innately, it’s the coolest thing to see. I suggest to my friends having babies for the first time to play music all the time, it’s so important.

    I used to go to shows all the time before life got more complicated with kids, I look forward to adding some of that back in when I can. What’s a trip is how much my taste has changed. I like many kinds of music, except zydeco (polka like music they had in New Orleans, not one I’ll ever like) but its amazing how much my preferences have mellowed and changed with age.” AS

    • I hope you got to watch the video from the link. I realized the other day that I was listening to music (mostly classical) every single day for about 20 years, then it suddenly stopped. No wonder I feel so out of sorts sometimes. I’m sure it would have benefited your father greatly.

      I’ll make sure and call you next time there is an all-ages show.

Leave a Reply

