Tribal Connections


Friday night is a relatively new invention. For thousands of years the lives of human beings revolved around the flow of life, the weather, the seasons, and the availability of food. It used to be extremely important to spend time with our ancestors. Then along came the industrial revolution. It brought with it bread and drudgery until finally those radical guys in the labor movement said, “Enough!”

Thus the weekend was born. Things really got rolling in the 1950’s with the expansion of the car culture and some pocket change. However, an unexpected side effect of the weekend was Friday night. The labor movement had created a whole new kind of social pressure. Then, to top it off, they threw in a couple long weekends and a few federal holidays to really make you feel like you should be out parting like a rock star.

In defense of the weekend, they function much like a social smoke break, a fire exit, or an escape hatch from life. But they have their drawbacks too, in just a few short generations, we have managed to indoctrinate ourselves into new beliefs about what we should be doing  and when we should be doing it.

Some hippies or hypocrites will tell you that if you care at all there is something wrong with you, but I’m pretty sure that being a sociopath is a type of mental illness. Part of the problem with social norms is that people assume that if you care, you care in the same way everyone else does. Admit it, there have been plenty of Friday nights that have crushed your self-esteem because you felt lame sitting at home without a date or because you weren’t at someone’s party. We’ve all been there. Then at some point in you late 20’s or early 30’s you decide to rebel. You decide that you are going to do “your own thing” on Friday nights which might include a variety of activities that you feel are contrary to the norm. The problem is, what you are doing on Friday night still matters. Ask your self, do you feel nearly as lame sitting at home on a Monday night?

Seems to me what we are really looking for is an ancient tribal connection.

Having been thrust, in the last few years, into the corporate world where the weekend reigns supreme I feel even more out of sorts with society than I did before. More like a stranger in my own country. I don’t know what to do with my weekends, with my holidays, or with my long weekends. I have thought about this now for some years. JJ (as I like to use him in the sense of a representational man) worried about my motives on holidays, if I was fit for further human interactions if I didn’t have a date for the weekend, etc. It’s true. I struggle often with how I fit into my culture.  My life flows around my son, around school, and around the weather if I want to go sailing. I feel lame sitting at home reading if there is wind outside.

But if I limit myself only to that question, to fit or not to fit, I limit my life. To recognize the constructs and social conventions of the time into which you were born is only the first step. I think the mature question to ask yourself is the one we have asked ourselves historically for thousands, if not millions, of years:  Are you taking advantage of the resources available to you at the time? This is concept that I have a very, very hard time imparting to people because they cannot see beyond the dichotomous concepts of Friday night.

Tonight I have some school work to do. I’m going to spend my evening with the dead, with John Locke and Stephen Jay Gould, thinking about Ontogeny and Phylogeny. Fuck modernity – tonight I’m partying with eternity.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Just in case you decide to be social and historic tonight, I found a little recipe for a cannabis celebration.

Pot Pizza – (from the stoner’s cookbook)

turkey-sausage-tbm-pizza-2
1 pre made pizza base
TOPPING:
2 tbls olive oil
1 large onion
1/4 cup tomato sauce
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 can tomatoes drained
1-3 tbls herb finely chopped/grated
1 tbls fresh basil chopped
1 teaspoon chilli flakes
5 sliced hot italian sausages (you can also use veggie sausages)
3/4 cup mozzarella cheese

pre heat oven 180c
cook sausages in frying pan slice when cool
heat olive oil in frying pan add onion and garlic cook til tender
Top the Dough: first spread it with tomato sauce, then sprinkle with onion,garlic,tomatoes,chilli flakes and herb. Scatter the sausage and mozzarella evenly over crust.
Put in oven and bake pizza for 12 to 15 minutes or til the crust is golden brown and chesse is starting to brown.
Best accompanied with a lively hopped cold beer and a good sound track. ENJOY 🙂

One thought on “Tribal Connections

  1. A comment from my friend – “I have friends who couldn’t believe I would attend something alone, or even grab a quick meal alone, because they couldn’t imagine sitting at a restaurant by themselves. I would ask “but what do you do if you’re out and about and get hungry?” They opted to go hungry rather than dine alone, I always thought that was strange”

Leave a Reply

