Pride and Tradition


“The role of citizens in our Democracy does not end with your vote. America’s never been about what can be done for us. It’s about what can be done by us together through the hard and frustrating, but necessary work of self-government. That’s the principle we were founded on.” – Obama

I would like to say thank you to the voters of Washington State. We continue to be the vanguard of progressive social ideas and the champions of equality, compassion and reason. Good Job. I’m proud of you.

Plus, I think you are all just going to like to hang out with me much more now that we have legalized marijuana. We can tests all my recipes for brownies and truffles. We can make munchies and watch a movie together. It will be excellent. I will also be working up a menu for those of you who would like to add a little calm and maybe few giggles to your Thanksgiving celebration.

In the spirit of re-framing our values to meet the challenges of the times, today I am going to suggest a radical departure from the standard Thanksgiving menu. But don’t worry, I’m still a moderate liberal who is rooted in tradition. I am going to suggest to you a Grilled-Cheese Sandwich Thanksgiving menu. Awesome, dude.

Grilled cheese sandwich shooters to start. I would make these with a Bloody Mary for the adults.

For a twist on tradition – Rustic Tomato & Coconut Fish Soup

Grilled cheese and mushroom

Corned Beef Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Guinness Caramelized Onions

French onion grilled cheese

Grilled Goat Cheese Sandwich with Peaches and Raspberry Jam

Grilled Cheese with Mascarpone, Apricot, and Chocolate

From the movie Hot Rod

Denise: I’m sorry, Rod. What were you going to ask me?
Rod Kimble: Um, I was gonna ask you who you think would win in a fight between… a grilled cheese sandwich and a taco.
Denise: Is that what you were really going to ask me?
Rod Kimble: Of course.
Denise: Well, I think the grilled cheese sandwich – in a fair fight. But if it was prison rules, I’d put my money on the taco.
Rod Kimble: Wow, that’s pretty racist but correct. I’ll see you later.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

