Merci, Merci


Some of you might be wondering how the first days of the check-out is going. The answer is not too badly. The main thing I did last night was to turned off my gchat. I still had to answer a few email dealing with the logistics of life and I did accept a text from a friend I’ll likely be seeing this weekend. Do I feel any better about the state of my friends and life? Yes and no.

I talked with my tenant and his friend as they cooked dinner and later I checked my blog stats to see what my lack of posting on Facebook and my changes to my email list have done. Here is a summary so far:

  • I had a little over half as many hits on my blog.
  • Number of emails and comments I have received, about the same.
  • People who contact me directly via phone, text or in person for other things, about the same.

What, you might ask, are the other half of the people who aren’t reading this blog missing? Well, to begin with they are missing out on this delicious drink recipe called the Frenchy. It has 1 1/2 oz Pear Vodka 3 oz Pineapple Juice 1 oz Cranberry Juice, served over ice. This is much like something I got when I was in France as a before dinner drink.

I thought I would base this next Thanksgiving menu suggestion on a French style menu. After all, the French have great food and they did really help us take this country from the original inhabitants. Why just celebrate the English invaders on such an important American holiday? One thing I do know about emails, IM and text is that it is hard to discern emotions from them, so I hope you all are detecting my grating, sarcastic tone when you read this last paragraph. I don’t know what the emoticon is for disgust-over-cultural-genocide.

Ungrateful Thanksgiving Menu #2

Recipes at: http://pinterest.com/bionicballerina/no-thanks-just-giving/

Baked Brie with Apricots

Mushroom Soup

Spinach and Pear Salad

Roasted Balsamic Sweet Potatoes

Grilled Balsamic-Garlic Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Cheese Souffles

Couscous and Cranberry Salad

Apple Rose Tarts

Frenchy

Leave a Reply

