An Agnostics Un-thankful Thanksgiving Menu


This is what I said last year about Thanksgiving.

“I mentioned the holidays I am getting rid of, but I left out Thanksgiving because it’s in a category of it’s own. I’ve talked about it before, but this year I’m going to do it. I’m boycotting all the usual Thanksgiving traditions. I’m boycotting the future too. For four days, I am starting my own tradition. I am going spend those four days living in the present moment as much as I possibly can. I’m not going to give thanks for shit this year. I am going to practice being thankful.”

The boycott part still seems pretty valid. Last year my mother complained (legitimately) that no one else hosted Thanksgiving and she felt that as the oldest daughter, I should. “I will,” I said, “but, if it’s at my house then I will be making the things I like.” After all, that is what she does. She said, “ok”.

So, I sent and email to some of my friends…no response. I asked another friend, she said, “I don’t know what we’re doing yet.” (Even though she generally plans Thanksgiving Day at least two months in advance.) I asked my tenant, he said he generally spends it on the other side of the mountains. I asked my other friend, he said he and some guys are planning to drive to Vegas.

Now, I would like very much to practice being thankful, but to tell you the truth, I’m finding it hard to find things I’m thankful for this year. And I’m finding it particularly hard to find people to be thankful with. The one person I am really thankful for will be with his dad this year. What is a girl to do? To be perfectly honest, what I would like to do is gather all these people in a room and scream at them. But that seems a lot like the standard American Thanksgiving I’m trying to avoid.

I know it goes against all this bullshit ‘optimism in the face of adversity’ crap we like to feed ourselves. I know it’s hard for people to hear. I know the lecture I will get about what I DO have to be thankful for and that there are starving people in Africa so finish what is on my plate and be grateful that I live in such a fabulous country, blah, blah, blah. But I really don’t feel like I have much to be grateful for…and I have to ask, grateful to whom? I also don’t think that things are a blessing from “god”. So who am I thanking anyway? If this is not a holiday to gather with your friend, but to go to Las Vegas or worry more about turkey, then why bother? What the fuck is this all about?

Yep…I don’t really have much thanks, just some inclination for the giving. So, I thought I would offer all of you out there who do give a shit and alternative menu for Thanksgiving, just in case you hate Turkey too.

Ungrateful Menu #1

  • Grilled Fig, Hazelnut & Ricotta Crostini
  • Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup
  • Cranberry and Avocado Salad with Candied Spiced Almonds and Sweet White Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Potato, Squash & Goat Cheese Gratin
  • Roasted Cauliflower with Red Chile, Cilantro & Lime
  • Grilled Salmon with Red Pepper, Ginger and Balsamic Vinaigrette Marinade
  • Apple Cider Cupcakes & Salted Caramel Buttercream
  • Apple Cider Sangria

I would, of course add some nice rolls and perhaps a cheese plate to this feast…

For ease of reading, I put all of these recipes on a Pintrest Board. I’ll be giving you more menus between now and Giving Day. Here is the link: http://pinterest.com/bionicballerina/no-thanks-just-giving/

Grilled Fig, Hazelnut & Ricotta Crostini 

Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup

Cranberry and Avocado Salad with Candied Spiced Almonds and Sweet White Balsamic Vinaigrette

Potato, Squash, & Goat Cheese Gratin

Roasted Cauliflower with Red Chile, Cilantro & Lime

Grilled Salmon with Red Pepper, Ginger and Balsamic Vinaigrette Marinade

Apple Cider Cupcakes & Salted Caramel Buttercream

Apple Cider Sangria

Leave a Reply

