The Gospel of “I Don’t Know”


If you work for a large company you likely have discussion boards you can sign up for. My in-box has been inundated lately since someone posted a topic entitled “Can ‘God’ and science co-exist?”

I enjoy philosophies about religion, existence and morality because they are so utterly inexplicable, it leaves so much room for imagination, inspiration, rumination and ignorance.  But I have not responded to any of the posts put up on this board because I find the premise to be mediocre a concept. Well, isn’t that just arrogant of me? Do I think I’m know the answers already? Maybe…

Isn’t this is already answered in the most basic of research tools – the hypothesis, the theory and the law? A Hypothesis can be dis-proven  but, it can never be proven to be true. It’s an educated guess. A theory is a summary of an educated guess or guesses. A law explains things, but cannot explain the ‘why’ of something. In short, there is not absolute, no truth or irrefutable truth in science.

We sure like to pretend there is though, don’t we?

I’m with Bill Maher on this one, friends. I preach the gospel of “I don’t know”. Because pretending that I do know is real arrogance. Any really religious person and any good scientist are going to say exactly the same thing: Aren’t the mysteries of life exciting and interesting?

Here’s my real problem…it seems that the gospel of  ‘I don’t know’ is not a socially acceptable way to live your life. It doesn’t get you jobs, gain you friends, or inspire someone to love you. You are not likely to land that sweet gig with lots of bennies if the interviewer asks, “So, what can you bring to our company?” and your answer is, “Gee, I don’t know. But it sure would be fun to find out…what is the salary range for people with my lack of qualifications?”

Do you know how hard it is to find someone who is willing to even go to dinner after you say, “I don’t know what I’m looking for. I don’t have any definitive plans for my life and I often question my own existence. In fact, I’m questioning yours right now…. I have some hypothesis and worked up a few theories. I expect to find that, a) We will be able to happily stumble through life together discovering how stupid and unimportant we both really are, or B) not.”

No, the gospel of “I don’t know” is not practical. It’s like ideological quantum physics; it’s social suicide. But I’m going to stick with it for now, after all, who knows?…maybe I’m right….

Anyway, enough with the commentary. I don’t know how this turned out so damn good, but it did. If you have any hypothesis, theories or laws on the topic of  the role of heat in chemical transformations and/or biological gastronomic information download systems, please feel free to post them in the comments section.

Mushroom Pasta with Goat Cheese & Edamame Mint Sauce
From Bitchin’ Kitchen, adapted from a What Katie Ate

Sauce

  • 1/2 cup edamame
  • 3 heaping tablespoons greek yogurt
  • 100 grams (a little less than 1/2 cup) goat cheese*
  • ~5 mint leaves
  • ~5 basil leaves
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

Pasta

  • 1/2 lb pasta, cooked according to directions (I used wild mushroom fettuccine pasta)
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 cup pecans, crushed
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • ~10 large mint leaves, julienned
  • ~5 basil leaves, julienned
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup reserved pasta water
  • extra goat cheese for serving (optional)
1) To make the sauce, place all sauce ingredients in a food processor and blend until a smooth and creamy, light green sauce is formed.  Taste and adjust seasonings accordingly.  If you are making this ahead of time, store the sauce in an airtight container in the refrigerator, up to 3 days.
One thought on “The Gospel of “I Don’t Know”

Leave a Reply

