So Long, Farewell….


I mentioned in a previous blog that I had let someone back into my life recently. I tried to leave the ball in his court before and he kept contacting me, saying he wanted to be friends, telling me that when I let him know I he had crossed my mind it made his day, telling me how beautiful he thinks I am. Blah, Blah, Blah. When I finally told him he should come visit and we could see if we should be any more than friends, he came running. “I want to be with you all the time; I want to take care of you; I want to be with you forever.” He said. He sounded so sincere. So, I though maybe I should stop breaking his heart and give him a chance, I mean he is fun.

This guy makes JJ look like his latest book could be on Emotional Intelligence. He makes L look like a god. It’s not that he’s a bad guy. He’s fun to be around. But that is it.  He is inconsistent, unreliable, self absorbed, intolerant of anyone else’s shortcomings and just generally oblivious. When I asked him for something for me and showed any bit of interest in moving beyond friendship I got the “I’m not sure if I will be around…I just assumed….That’s just not who I am….don’t try to change me….ooooo, everyone is waiting for me, I have to go….” story.

I wanted to heed my own advise. I really did. I wanted to be kind, understanding, gentle, forgiving, to be a bigger person. After all, he is fun to be around, when he’s around. And I know I”m not always the easiest person to be with. I made an effort  to try to tell him “in person” that I didn’t think even a friendship was going to work out. Really, friends, I did.

I don’t want to have to use the line, “it’s not you, it’s me”. Even though it goes against every principal I have on how people should be treated, I am just going to disappear from his life. Maybe I’ll send him a ‘dear john’ email or a little good-bye gift. I hate to think that he will read that I broke up with him (before I ever actually dated him) in a blog, but just in case he’s reading this and catching up on my life: I’d like to say “it’s not you”, but it really is you.

Maybe this will help you swallow it down:

Humble Pie

Ingredients

  • Ice
  • 1 ounce Skyy Infusions Blood Orange Vodka
  • 1 ounce Aperol
  • 1/4 ounce freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Club soda
  • Garnish: lemon wheel

Procedures

Fill a cocktail shaker with ice. Add Skyy Blood Orange, Aperol, and lemon juice. Shake until cold. Strain into an ice-filled Collins glass, top off with soda. Garnish with lemon wheel and serve.

Leave a Reply

