I am Foodie


Well, I got rejected for inclusion in the Foodie Blog Roll (after two months of review) because I use indecent language in my blog. Fuck them. They are obviously not cooks. Tell me they don’t roll out some choice words when they cut their fingers on their Henckels…

Should I remove their banner from my blog? Naw, I’m too lazy. Perhaps I should start my own Riot Grrl Recipes Blog Roll… not all of us can be fucking Martha Stewart, after all. I am Foodie too, damn it! Maybe I’m not DIY enough for them. Oh well. I prefer to think that I am like Rachel Ray, Anthony Bordain and Carrie Brownstein run together at high speeds. (Let me have my fantasies.)

I am feeling inspired by this scathing rejection from the mainstream (and by Knitta) so, I’m going to do some foodie graffiti tonight. Yes, I have collected all of those fun recipe cards from the seafood and produce sections at Ralph’s and I am going to go around the neighborhood tonight tucking them into the cracks of doors. Wouldn’t you rather find a recipe for Baked Camembert with Roasted-Garlic Marmalade than a Guide Post magazine crammed into your slot? I sure would.

I make no apologies for my foul-mouthed-sailor, drunk-kitchen cooking, over-sexed and literary ways. While I’m bucking the system, let’s forget about this WordPress Wordless Wednesday Shit – I’m starting box-wine Wednesdays…care to join me? ….You know want to…

How about Polenta with Camembert and Spinach for you….

  • 3 sups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup instant polenta
  • 6 oz. ripe Camembert cheese at room temperature
  • 1 cup chopped baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup half and half
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bring brother to boiling. gradually strin in polenta. cook over medium heat stirring constantly for 2 to 3 minutes or unti lthick. remove rind from cheese. Cut cheese into bite-size chunks and stir into polenta. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until cheese melts in (about 2 minutes).

Stir in spinach. Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in half-and-half, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Simmer for 1 minute. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

