Super Theory of Super String Beans


When I get stressed I listen to a lot of music, particularly fuck-the-popular-paradigm punk. So, here’s one from Gogol Bordello, Super Theory of Super Everything:

First time I had read the Bible, it had stroke me as unwitty
I think it may started rumor that the Lord ain’t got no humor
Put me inside SSC, let’s test super string theory

Accelerate the protons, I stir it twice and then just add me, ’cause

I don’t read the Bible, I don’t trust disciple
Even if they’re made of marble or Canal Street bling
I don’t read the Bible, I don’t trust disciple
Even if they’re made of marble or Canal Street bling

From the maelstrom of the knowledge into the labyrinth of doubt
Frozen underground ocean melting, nuking on my mind
Give me everything theory without Nazi uniformity

My brothers are protons, my sisters are neurons
I stir it twice, it’s instant family

Do you have sex maniacs or schizophrenics
Or astrophysicists in your family?
Was your grandma anti anti, was your grandpa bounty bounty?
They ask in embassy

And my grandma she was anti, and my grandpa he was bounty
I stir it twice and Canal Street bling

Party, party, party, party, party, party
Party, party, party, party, party, after party
Accelerate the protons, I stir it twice and then just add me

I personally see no conflict between religion and science. Religion, gods and goddess are simply the anthropomorphic symbols of our environment. I think that we like to bring the forces of nature and the mysteries of the universe down to a comprehensible, human level. Otherwise they can be scary and overwhelming. If you don’t think so, just spend a day sailing and you will see that mother nature can be a real bitch. She can also be a warm, tender and benevolent mother.

Or spend a night looking at the stars somewhere away from the lights of civilization and you will see the goddess Nut. The vastness of existence is more easily understood when we humanize it. When we think about the mysteries of what life really is, this business life consuming death and death consuming life, is it any wonder that we mythologize our food? Death is, after all the ultimate unknown, always shrouded from our minds behind a veil of protons and neutrons or served up to us at the dinner table.

Orange-Infused Roasted String Beans and Red Peppers (from Delish.com)

  • 1 pound string beans, trimmed
  • 1  red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • Zest of 1 orange
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 teaspoon crushed red pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Toss beans, bell pepper and oil in a large bowl. Add orange zest, salt and crushed red pepper to taste; toss to combine. Spread on a large baking sheet. Roast the vegetables, turning once halfway through cooking, until tender and slightly wilted, about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

