I Eat the Sea


I wear the sea
It dries on me
sticky, shimmering like showgirl glitter
seaweed hair, matted and tangle homo erectus head
 
I drink the sea
tide pool in my liver, it collects in my bones
breath out salt-seasoned wind
pure liquid hydrogen and oxygen
 
 the sea fills my head until I feel the moon pulling on me
 
I sway, I dance, I am tempest tossed
slick and glassy, I reflect
my life aquatic
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_________________________________________________

Salt Water Taffy

2 c. sugar
1 c. light corn syrup
1 1/2 c. water
1 1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. glycerin
2 tbsp. butter
2 tsp. vanilla
Combine sugar, syrup, water, salt and glycerin in a 3 quart heavy saucepan. Place on low heat and stir until sugar dissolves. Then cook without stirring to the hard ball stage (265 degrees).Remove from heat and add butter. When butter is melted, pour into a buttered shallow pan (about 13×9 inch).When cool enough to handle, gather into a ball and pull until rather firm. Add vanilla while pulling. Stretch out into a long rope and cut in 1 or 2 inch pieces. Wrap each piece in waxed paper when hard; twist paper at both ends. This will keep candy from becoming sticky. Makes about 1 1/4 pounds.
Leave a Reply

