Is Amazon Getting Fresh With Me?


I added up the money that I spend each month on groceries and it came out to about $450.00 a month for two people. That includes eating out. The average American household spends about $650.00 a month for two people. Still, it seems like a lot to me.

I thought I would give Amazon Fresh a look. They have 44 varieties of organic fruit and 132 varieties of organic vegetables. Not too bad for a ginormous international corporation. In fact, it kind of made me a little excited. There are a few local things as well, such as Cafe Vita coffee, fish from Pike Place Market, baked goods from Macrina Bakery (yum), Theo Chocolates (super yum), Beecher’s cheese, and goods from Lopez Island Creamery. Honestly, I was starting to get a little hot. But when I saw the Wilcox Family Farms which is Certified Humane by Humane Farm Animal Care I was ready to let them have their way with me. Amazon Fresh offers to your door service… if your door is in the right place. Unfortunately mine is not.

New Roots Organics http://newrootsorganics.com also delivers local with seasonal bins starting at $29.00 If you are looking to shake up your menu this is a great way to do it. In Olympia as well as other places, Spud.com delivers a local harvest box for $35.00. They also tell you how far the produce has traveled to reach their warehouse. I decide to fill my cart and see what it came to.

What do you get in the Harvest Box? 6 apples, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, celery, parsley, 2 lemons, 2 onions, 3 pears, salad greens and 1 lb. of tomatoes. I added, lentils, leeks, 4 cartons of non-dairy milk, plain yogurt, Beecher’s cheese, goat cheese, quinoa, and Gorilla Munchies. Grand total $94.00. I multiplied this by three week because I wouldn’t need things like quinoa  and non-dairy milk every week. With free shipping the total for the  month came to $282.00. Yes, if we do that math, that still leaves me with $168.00 a month for coffee and eating out. Let’s not forget about driving, store chaos and gas money, which leaves me with a little extra time to do something more enjoyable – cook.

Last night I made the time to cook something tasty, a delicious dinner. I baked with my god daughter until about 10:30 and then I put my phone away and buried myself in a book. No school work, no stress – it was so refreshing.

Part biography, part philosophy, part travel journal, part political journalism, part history – Nikos Kazantzakis creates a delectable literary recipe. Written in the late 1930’s, just before the outbreak of the Japanese invasion of China, it is a novel steeped in a sense of time and place, much like Joyces’ Dubliners. Not quite stream of conscious; he manages to encompass the whole with a focused perspective that gives the reader a very personal sense of the story. As a writer, he is prolific, among his work are modern translations of the Odyssey and the Iliad as well as his own Odyssey: A Modern Sequel and, most famously, Zorba the Greek. His philosophical interests in Tagore, Friedrich Nietzsche and Zen Buddhism run like Ariadne’s thread through all of his literature. Personally, I think he is a sadly overlooked author. He died in 1957, on his grave marker are these words: I have nothing … I fear nothing … I am free.

Lemon Pasta with Asparagus and Goat Cheese (VG)

  • lemon pasta
  • asparagus
  • goat cheese (I used herbed)
  • lemon spiced almonds, crushed
  • garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • oregano
  • chives
I started with fresh oregano and chives from my yard. No delivery service needed.

To roast your asparagus, place it in an ovenproof pan. Drizzle with olive oil, cover with chopped garlic or garlic paste, salt and pepper to taste. Put in the oven on 350 degrees until it is tender (about 15-20 minutes).

While your asparagus is roasting, boil your pasta and crush you almonds in a mortar and pestal or with a rolling pin. When your pasta is done plate it, toss with chives, oregano, almonds and top with goat cheese. Add your asparagus as the crowning glory and enjoy.

Just a note, goat cheese is actually an non-dairy cheese for those of you who are lactose intolerant. You can make this gluten free by using (duh) gluten free pasta and squeezing some lemon on top.

____________________________________________________________

If you really want to make a friend, go to someone’s house and eat with him… the people who give you their food give you their heart. – Cesar Chavez

Leave a Reply

