The Art of Food


There are a few cooking blogs I like to follow, one is The Hungry Irishman and another is Terrified Tastebud. Chef’s, of course, are artists and if I were to draw comparisons I would say The Hungry Irishman is like Caravaggio; classic yet modern, clean and still complex, and definitely has an edge. Deb, who writes Terrified Tastebud, is more like a Mary Cassatt; elegant, expressive, a woman who made a choice to follow her passion.

As for myself, I’m a Jackson Pollock. I get into the kitchen and start throwing things around. I make a mess. Or maybe I’m a Marc Chagall with childlike recipes infused with mythology.

I cooked with JJ once. He criticized me for “wasting” a teaspoon or two of salt (not that he had any proper measuring tools) and a bit of oil. I’ve heard people say that cooking is an exacting science, but I disagree. Cooking is dynamic, it is a process and an art. My advise, go into your kitchen and don’t be afraid to make a mess. If bits of your medium end up on the floor, don’t worry, you can clean it up later.

If you are coming to my blog looking for recipes, you will find a few. But if you are coming here looking for ideas you will leave much more satisfied. Recipes are wonderful guidelines, they are invaluably instructive, but ultimately an artist has to make something their own.

What I have to offer are simple recipes to use like paints on your own canvas. Here is one I was working on this weekend. It is easy, storable and delicious. Try these in a quiche, as a salad topper, in pasta, in rice or quinoa, with mozzarella and basil, they go great with something lemony, with roasted garlic or fresh jalapenos. Use your imagination….

Oven-roasted Masala Tomatoes (GF, V, VG)

Drizzel with olive oil and agave or honey and season your tomatoes with garam masala, chili pepper, cinnamon, salt and pepper. Put them in the oven at 225 degrees until they cook down to the consistency of sun-dried tomatoes in oil. If you roast them until they are crispy they will last longer.

________________________________________________________________________

“A man’s errors are his portals of discovery.” – James Joyce

Leave a Reply

