Cool You


I am constantly surprised at the coolness of the random people who read my blog and give me the thumbs-up, send an e-mail or give a nice comment. It makes me want to take a trip just to visit you all. I get reads from all over the world; Malaysia, Malta, India, Dallas, Denver, Dubai, Bulgaria, Turkey, Morocco and (my all time favorite) Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. It is surprising how many people think I am writing about them. My cousin sends me an email every week or so commenting on how I keep writing about her life. Often people will tell me how something is timely or resonates with them. I think it is very flattering that people relate on a personal level to what you have to say.

My friend mentioned my writing about JJ and I had to inform him that post was not really about JJ at all but about him. JJ was just an example to mask my friends identity. There are things that I write in here for or about JJ. I sometimes wonder if he reads this and understands. I wonder if he know when JJ is an individual and when he is an archetype, if he knows the difference between first love and living-sedulous-sapient-love, between obsession and attachment sānctitās. But then again, I wonder if any of us do. There is enough narcissism in my blog, but times it is unavoidable because a blog is really a first person perspective in many cases. There is no need to start every sentence with ‘I’, JJ can be a ‘we’ or a ‘you’.

To be honest, these last two years have been a complete remaking of my life. I read about changes to careers, life circumstances and even menus from you. If there is an appropriate place for ‘I’ in here it is to acknowledge that my experiences are not unique, they are the human experience. There is a longing, at times, in everyone for the security of being rather than the uncertainty of becoming, but there is a comfort in knowing that there are other people out there who relate. As Joseph Campbell says, “we have not even to risk the adventure alone; for the heroes of all time have gone before us, the labyrinth is fully known; we have only to follow the thread of the hero-path.”

Thank you for sharing your pictures, your art, your recipes, your comments, and for expanding my horizons.

Olympia Cocktail (GF, V, VG)

  • 2 ounces rum
  • 1/2 ounce cherry liqueur
  • 1-1/2 ounces lime juice

Place a cocktail glass in the freezer for 5 minutes to chill. Put all of the ingredients into a cocktail shaker filled with ice and vigorously shake the mixture for 35 seconds. Strain the mixture into the prepared glass and serve immediately.

This is a concert that my friend took me to a while back in Oly. Hope we/you/JJ enjoy(s) it.


2 thoughts on “Cool You

Leave a Reply

