Tag, You’re It


It is always interesting to me to see what tags people put in that lead to my blog. Eat Me was a popular title. It seems the most common tags are Seizures, Epilepsy, Hot firemen, Mamihlapinatapai and number 1?

Oysters.

So, in the interest of a little social experiment, I thought I would write up a little bit using these tags. Let’s see how many hits I get…I made this wonderful dahl last night, even my son loved it. For those of you unfamiliar with dahl, it is an Indian dish made with lentils. I usually struggle with dahl, so I don’t make it often. I don’t do well with pressure cookers (the quickest way to cook it), because have this fear that I will some how catch my house on fire with the damn thing. Of course, the up-side is that I might have to call the Hot Firemen to put it out.

My tenant makes a great dahl and I considered asking him for help, but I imagined us having one of those Mamihlapinatapai moments where I wanted to ask for and he wanted to offer help. You see, he really only has one dahl trick up his sleeve and I was looking for something a little different. I wanted to try something new.

I also haven’t tried adding it much to my diet to help curb the seizures I have due to Epilepsy, but I may have to reconsider this. Lentils are one of the nutritional super-foods of the world. Here’s what wikipedia has to say about them:

With about 30% of their calories from protein, lentils have the third-highest level of protein, by weight, of any legume or nut, after soybeans and hemp.[4] Proteins include the essential amino acids isoleucine and lysine, and lentils are an essential source of inexpensive protein in many parts of the world, especially in West Asia and the Indian subcontinent, which have large vegetarian populations.[5] Lentils are deficient in two essential amino acids, methionine and cysteine.[6] However, sprouted lentils contain sufficient levels of all essential amino acids, including methionine and cysteine.[7] Lentils also contain dietary fiber, folate, vitamin B1, and minerals. Red (or pink) lentils contain a lower concentration of fiber than green lentils (11% rather than 31%).[8] Health magazine has selected lentils as one of the five healthiest foods.[9] Lentils are often mixed with grains, such as rice, which results in a complete protein dish.

I get reads from all over the world, from Greece, Saudi Arabia and even Pakistan. It’s fascinating to see the far reaches of a simple little thing like a blog. There are so many people out there looking for new information, new dishes, new knowledge. It reminded me this morning a person may live in a small place or a big place, but what is more important to gaining an understanding of the world is whether they have a small mind or a large mind.

Hello Dahlee (GF , VG, V)

  • 1 cup yellow Dahl
  • 3 cups water
  • 3+ tablespoons of Garam Masala
  • 1/8 teaspoon of Asafodita
  • 1+ teaspoon of chili powder
  • vegetable bullion
  • salt, to taste
  • onions, cut long
  • 1 roma tomato, chopped small
  • 3+ cloves of garlic
  • Cilantro, chopped

If you don’t have a pressure cooker, you can make your dahl much like rice. In a pot bring the dahl, bullion and water to a boil. Turn down the heat and add in garlic, all the spices, except salt and tomatoes. Cover and let simmer until all the water is absorbed. Salt to taste.

In a separate pan, caramelize your onions. If you need help on this, see my previous post on the how-to.

When the dahl is done, fold in the caramelized onions and serve with curd, Indian pickle and top with cilantro. A side of lime would be great also, but this would not go well with Oysters.

3 thoughts on “Tag, You’re It

Leave a Reply

