Auguries of Innocence


I woke up to the crying sky. Raindrop water nymphs jumping up and down on my rooftop, wrestling out a game of kick-the-can with my chimney stop, calling me out of my bed. Wake up sleepy-head. I stepped shaky down the stairs believing that if someone were to open up my taut skin my wine-dried insides would crumble into dust. Too much lying around last night with my nose embedded in a glass of red Cupcake. Stayed too late into the morning sharing old, strange movies. Le Grand Blu. The Thing from Another World. Six String Samurai. Too much reminiscing about beautiful places in the world, listening to Matt tell fantastical stories of parties in London, biking in Burgundy, how Rome is dirty, Tennis in India, never been to Hawaii and then….how much he loves it here. No less rich an experience than any of those places, he says. It is not the fast-girls, sports-car, unlimited-expense account life. It grew on him quietly, like love.

I look at my two little palm tree twins gazing wistfully out the window at the rain. I can see what they are thinking – we wish we were in Hawaii.  Everyone wants to be some where else, except Matt.

As I write my fingers tap, tap, tap on the keyboard. The raindrops rap, rap on the window and slide down all mingled together in transparent sheets. I stop and think about Rome, about Hawaii, maybe Calgary. I’m ready to be going again. I think of hiking to the top of the biggest mountain on the planet. I want to peer out of the telescope, that looks like a giant eye, into the vast, vast universe. They say you can see 90% of all of the stars visible to us from that one, small desolate spot two thousand miles away from everywhere. Today is a good day to bake something, I think. Today I don’t want to be any other place besides home.

Chocolate Truffle Tart

  • 2 cups crushed chocolate graham crackers
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate
  • 16 oz. mascarpone cheese
  • 1 1/2 cup heavy cream

This is so easy, it’s almost shameful. Melt your butter and mix it well with the graham crackers. Bake at 375 degrees until is puffs and starts to crisp. Take it out and let it cool.

In a pot, put in the heavy cream. Bring it to a boil being careful not to burn it. Add in the chocolate and melt it all down together. Stir continuously, do not get distracted by the Harold and Kumar movie you are watching on Amazon.

When it is all melted together remove it from the stove and return your attention to the movie because the next bit is easy. Just fold in the mascarpone cheese. This means mix it slowly. No problem. Pour the chocolate and cheese mixture over the graham cracker crust and set it in the refrigerator to chill for about three hours. When the chocolate has set up, sprinkle with powdered sugar. Things need not be complicated, large or exotic to be rich and delicious.

_______________________________________________________________________________

To see a world in a grain of sand,

And a heaven in a wild flower,

Hold infinity in the palm of your hand,

And eternity in an hour.

– William Blake, Auguries of Innocence

Leave a Reply

