Share Point


I got pretty sick last year. The meds that I take are not very friendly and like to have my liver all to themselves. When my tenant came home one day and noticed my yellowing hue he ushered me off to the hospital. I got it straightened out, but my body just hasn’t quite been the same since. My liver has put it’s metaphorical foot down and said, “No more crap. Give me greens.” It doesn’t seem to give a shit if I want chocolate chip cookies, it knows what I need.

It’s funny how our body often rules our mind, but we like to think it’s the other way around. As that medication clash got worse and worse, I could barely think straight. I suspect that nastiness was the death-knell in my relationship and it got me thinking about things like the connections between health and behavior, between desire and need, between love and food. I have a lot of ideas about these things. I have formulated a few opinions, but I wanted to offer someone else’s too.

We all like to think we know what we want. I’m not so sure. B said to me once, “Why are you so concerned with what you want from me, why don’t we just share what we have? What do you have to bring me, K? I’ll give you what ever I can.” He also said, “I think that my whole life is just masturbation”, but that is another post.

So, here’s what I have for you today. I don’t know what I find so damn charming about Sister Wendy. Maybe it is that she speaks with authority about something I am interested in. Maybe it’s just that she is so very genuine. Take what you want from it. Take what you need.

Salad with Braised Fennel, Goat Cheese and Pomegranate (VG,  GF)

  • Salad Greens
  • 1/2 Granny Smith apple
  • 1 fennel bulb
  • Goat cheese
  • Pomegranate seeds
  • Butter
  • TJ’s Flower Pepper
  • Sailor Jerry’s Rum
  • TJ’s Champagne Pear Salad Dressing or your fav

The only thing you really have to cook here is the fennel and it’s really easy.

Cut off the bottom of the bulb and the top stalks and cut the bulb into about 1/4 slices. Melt about 1-2 pats of butter in the pan, add the fennel, 2-3 shots of rum

and pepper with the Flower Pepper to taste.

A great find

Put a lid on it and let it cook until the fennel is very soft but not mush. Compose your salad. Yum.

___________________________________________________________________

“You can’t always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, you might find, you get what you need.”  – The Rolling Stones

Leave a Reply

