Lost


Once I got a rare and beautiful thing. I wasn’t expecting it. Someone gave it to me.

I lost it.

I always knew it would happen. Maybe it needed to happen because, like many other people, rarely realize how much I appreciate things until after they are gone. Maybe it needed to happen so that the person who gave it too me would realize it was a gift that needs to be given over and over again. Maybe it needed to happen so that I would remember that I can only possess it if I give it back.

Some people might feel that it is something that will tie them down, be too much of a responsibility, that they are just not ready for it. Maybe it needs to be lost for those people so that they can realize that all the adventures they have planned for their lives will be empty without it. Perhaps it’s not the thing at all that is lost, but the person. I’ve considered the thought that maybe it needed to be lost so that in finding it again the magic of the first moment one receives it is renewed.

The person who gave it to me said they don’t have any more. I know it’s not true. I heard it him whispering it to me, I’ve seen it. I don’t have a recipe for it to share with you. This one will have to do.

Pan Seared Shrimp and Ratatouille 

20 large shrimp (16/20 ct. or larger)
olive oil for sauteing
2 pounds cooked angel hair pasta
4 ounces white wine (chablis works fine)
1 leek (white part only, julienned and fried) for garnish
***Ratatouille***
1 medium sized eggplant, peeled
2 medium sized yellow squash
2 medium sized zucchini
1 medium yellow onion
1 medium red pepper
10 cultivated mushrooms (cut into quarters)
3 leaves fresh basil (chopped)
5 cloves garlic (chopped)
6 ounces white wine
1/2 gallon V-8 vegetable juice
Salt and black pepper (to taste)
crushed red pepper (to taste)

Shrimp:

Peel, devein, and butterfly shrimp. Place olive oil in hot saute pan. Add shrimp and saute until they begin to cook. Deglaze pan with wine and cook 30 seconds or ’til wine reduces. Add hot ratatouille and reduce heat to medium high. Cook 2 to 3 minutes or until shrimp are cooked through, stirring occasionally. (Shrimp will cook faster if you put a cover on top.) Serve over pasta garnished with leeks.

Ratatouille:

Cut eggplant, squash, zucchini, onion, and pepper into 1/2″ cubes. Saute all vegetables in olive oil with garlic. When they start to soften, add wine. When wine reduces a little, add V-8. Lower heat and cook 10 to 12 minutes. Add basil, salt, pepper, and crushed pepper (if desired). Cook 5 more minutes, adjust seasoning and serve.

From the movie I am Love.

One thought on “Lost

Leave a Reply

