Unfuckingbelievably Good


I knew there was something to this whole talking to the universe thing. When I was very young I dated a Frenchman. Ooooo he was so sweet, so adorable, so attractive, so French. We dated for a few weeks while he was visiting the U.S. and we corresponded as friends for a long while after that. Over the years we eventually we lost touch, but every once in a while I run across a picture or a letter from him.

Last year, I wanted to lend JJ a book to read. Tucked in side was a post card from Jean Michel Bonnet. He freaked out. Was I trying to make him jealous? Was I playing games? It made me wonder what kind of terrible women JJ had dated before. Who had done this to him? Besides, if I wanted to make someone jealous, I could have done much better than a postcard from 1994 in a book that I probably hadn’t opened since 1996. A month or so later, I picked up that book and pulled out the pretty seaside picture-postcard…after 17 years, I thought I’d say hello. Catch up. Practice my French. So I looked him up on Facebook and sent out my request.

No response. Months went by. I had completely forgotten about it until the day after I put out my universe requests in one of my other posts. In it I said, “I want an old friend to show up on my door step. I want someone to come to me and say, “wow, I just realized_________(fill in the blank surprise). I want something completely unexpected to happen. It doesn’t really matter who it is or what day it is, the beauty of someone who wants to share the joys and challenges of their life with you is the best gift anyone could ask for.” The next day my computer let out a happy little “ping”. ‘Jean Michel has confirmed you as a friend.’

This morning I open up my e-mail to find a note from a friend I haven’t seen for many year. On New Years Eve there was a small tap on my shoulder and I heard my name called out over the crowd. It was my former tenant and his girlfriend. We toasted to the New Year and old friends. “Come visit us,” they said. “We have so much to tell you.” What unfuckingbelievably good surprises. Thanks Universe.

I guess this just goes to show that you don’t need to sit on the lap of some perverted old man dressed in a red suit to have your holiday wish list filled. I still haven’t gotten my “I just realized…” present, but I’m sure the universe hasn’t forgotten about me. I had also been wishing for a new recipe that I could add to my repertoire. Guess what! Roast Broccoli, who knew? My friend’s husband made this for dinner the other night from a recipe he pulled off of allrecipes.com. It is called The Best Broccoli Ever, and it truly is. I was so busy eating I forgot to take a picture, but luckily I found one in another post called ‘It’s so good it’s pissing me off’. Touche!

The Best Broccoli Ever (GF, V, VG)

Unfuckingbelievably good.

  • 2 heads broccoli, separated into florets
  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, toss broccoli florets with the extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, pepper and garlic. Spread the broccoli out in an even layer on a baking sheet.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until florets are tender enough to pierce the stems with a fork, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove and transfer to a serving platter.

P.S. I think that even my friends who are “allergic” to Broccoli might like this. 

2 thoughts on “Unfuckingbelievably Good

Leave a Reply

