Going Back for Seconds


Failure. We should all expect it. In fact, maybe we should hope for it. I try to get in at least one good fuck-up a day myself. The great thing about failure is that you can practice it with almost anything – you can fail classes, fail to quite smoking, fail as a friend or lover or both, or just plain fail to be true to yourself.  Life may be a one-shot deal, but many things in it are not. Personally, I find that quite comforting.

Where would we be without failure? Imagine a romance movie where everything went exactly to plan. Boring. Don’t we just love it when two people, who are obviously meant to be together, fail at their romance on the first round? It leaves the door open for a greater depth of understanding, it gives a yin of sadness to their ultimate yang of happiness, it is the foundations for the denouement that keeps us watching the movie until the end.

Not many people seem to have room in their lives for second chances. I’ve never really understood this. You know so much more, you’ll have had practice, you may even look like a pro the second time around. However, we rarely forgive failure in others, no matter what their intention or effort was. Sad. I had a New Year’s failure last year, but I decided to give it a second chance. That was a smart move. The food was better, the company was fun and the music was great. I even got to dance with a hot guy who knew a thing or two about Salsa. He was kind, sweet and forgiving when I stepped on his toes or missed a cue. It took a few times, but by the end of the night we were smooth. I think what we all want is not just someone we can succeed with, but someone who will stand by us when we fail. Who will give us a second chance, or third, or fourth…

So, I was feeling happy tonight to realize that I had a chantrell quiche failure which I had yet to improve upon. It was unfortunate that someone else had to eat my failure, but, like my dancing partner, he was very polite and didn’t complain. I hope he will give my cooking a second chance. For this quiche, I went with Smoked Salmon to keep my mushrooms company in their pie, but it can be pretty rich sometimes. A phyllo dough crust gave it just the balance I was looking for.

As you are making your New Year’s resolutions, keep in mind that you are probably going to fail at least once. Maybe twice. Don’t worry, many things are definitely better the second time around.

Quiche with Smoked Salmon and Chantrells

1 package smoked salmon, don’t be cheap

Phyllo dough

6 eggs

4-5 chantrell mushrooms, chopped

butter

3-4 green onions, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

toasted sesame seeds

salt and pepper

In a buttered pie dish arrange your phyllo dough adding a bit of egg wash or butter brushed in between every few sheets. Begin by sauteing your mushrooms in a pat of butter, add green onions and garlic.

In a mixing bowl, beat your eggs together and flavor with salt and pepper. Arrange the smoked salmon on top of the crust and then add your mushroom saute and sprinkle the sesame seeds on the top.

Drop in a few bits of butter around and then pour your egg mixture over the top.

Bake at 375 degrees. As the egg begins to set up, add a few dots of butter on the top and continue baking until the egg is completely set.

I had my with a German Spatlese that I got for Christmas from my boss, but it would be steller with a good Viognier. Yum.

Leave a Reply

