Jazz, Sunny Side Up


Saturday night. I wiped my hands on my apron and pushed the button. Click.  Nat King Cole crooned loudly into my living room. I turned it down a little.

“I’m sorry. What was that?” I asked Matt.  He swirled his wine and then stared into his glass. His long legs were crossed casually as if they were driftwood that had been washed up onto my couch.

“New York. We had dinner with this great guy…What is this on the radio?”

“All Blues. Who was the guy?” I opened the refrigerator and pushed aside the curry sauce. Behind it I found what I needed. Yogurt.

“Oh yeah, Sergei Khrushchev. Nikita’s son. He had some good Brandy, man. Anyway, I was telling him…Olympia is kind of like Haight-Ashbury in the 60’s.” He ran his hand over his slick head as he often does.

“I thought you said it was like a cross between Twin Peaks and the Witness Protection Program.”

“It’s grown on me. I told him he should try to make it out here. But what is this song?”

“Sure. We could have dinner.” The steam from the noodles fogged up my glasses.  “Frim Fram Sauce,” I added.

“What?”

“Frim Fram Sauce is the song.”

“Oh, I thought that’s what you wanted to make Khrushchev for dinner.”

I paused. “Well, I bet he’s never had it…”

To be honest, I don’t think anyone has. It doesn’t exist. I would have thought that someone would have come up with something by now. After all, this song has been around since before the Cold War.

“Frim Fram Sauce”

I don’t want french fried potatoes, red ripe tomatoes
I’m never satisfied
I want the frim fram sauce
With oss-en-fay with sha fafa on the side
I don’t want pork chops and bacon
That won’t awaken, my appetite inside
I want the frim fram sauce
With oss-en-fay with sha fafa on the side
Well you know a girl
She really got to eat
And a girl she should eat right
Five will get you ten
I’m going to feed myself right tonight

I don’t want fish cakes and rye bread
You heard what I said
Waiter please, I want mine fried
I want the frim fram sauce
With oss-en-fay with sha fafa on the side

Even my good friend, Google, couldn’t tell me much about Frim Fram Sauce, let alone Oss-en-fey and Sha fafa. There are some hints here. Apparently it’s something fried, without french fries, tomatoes, pork chops, bacon, fishcakes or rye bread. Other than that, it’s as if Nat has been waiting patiently for me to get off my ass and get into my kitchen to whip something up for him.

I decided to give it  a shot. First, I needed to know what Oss-en-fey was. Since research had turned up nothing, I went with similar sounding words until I came up with something yummy – Aholehole (a-ho-lay-HO-lay). Go ahead, say it out loud. Honestly, this is a bit hard to get state side. You can usually only get it in Hawaii. I substituted Rock Fish instead. But I do believe that Aholehole would make this dish.

I then took some cue’s for Frim  Fram Sauce from this website, which I found throughly entertaining: http://www.jazz.com/jazz-blog/2009/12/2/the-great-frim-fram-mystery I concluded that Lime sauce was definitely the way to go. But what of this Sha fafa? My friend, Ethan, made a few suggestions, so I invited him over and we cooked.

Frim-Fram Sauce with Oss-en-fey and Sha fafa 

Oss-en-fey

1-2 pieces of Aholehole, Rock Fish or Catfish

Tequila

Sugar

Lime

Marinate your fish in about 1/2 a sample bottle of Tequila, the juice of one half of a lime and 1 tsp. of sugar for about one hour in the refrigerator. Add about 2 tbls. of olive oil and 1 pat of butter to a pan and fry fish on medium heat until it becomes flaky. DO NO take the oil out of the pan when you remove the fish.

Frim Fram Sauce

About 3 tbls. butter

1/4 sample bottle of Tequila

Juice of 2-3 limes

1 slice of ginger, chopped fine

1 small clove of garlic, chopped fine

1-2 tbsp. sugar

In a small sauce pan melt your butter on medium-low heat, add lime juice, ginger and garlic and let it cook for a few minutes. Add Tequila and slowly add sugar until the tartness of the lime is more mild and you can taste the Tequila. Pour over the fish right before serving.

Sha-fafa (Garlic and Herb Mashed Potatoes and Sauted Kale)

4-5 small red potatoes

Butter

Heavy cream

Thyme, Oregano and Rosemary, chopped fine

3-5 cloves of garlic, chopped fine

Salt and pepper

Boil your potatoes with the skin on until they are nice and soft. Drain, cut into chunks and set aside. In the same pan add 1 1/2 tbsp. butter and garlic and saute until garlic is lightly brown. Reduce heat and whisk in 1 cup of heavy cream, 1 tbsp salt, pepper to taste. Add potatoes and mash it all together. It will get a bit sticky, but that is okay.

A little soul food to jazz up your dinner.

for the Kale:

One bunch of Kale, coarsly chopped

Lime

Garlic

Salt and pepper

Gruyere Cheese, shreaded

Lemon Pepper Almonds

The sauted Kale is a variation on a recipe I used before. I used a different kind of Kale this time, which turned out much better. So, saute your Kale in the same oil as the fish until it is tender, add a bit of olive oil if needed, lime juice, garlic, salt and pepper to taste. Put it on the plate and sprinkle with lime zest, Gruyere and almonds.

Ethan cleaned his plate.

Leave a Reply

