One Hot Swig


On Friday nights I used to always expect a call from David. It started with “Sooooooo, what plans do you have tonight….” It meant, ‘will you come down to the dock at 9pm and help me deliver the boat to god-knows-where, it’s cold, it’s dark, the engine isn’t running that great and no one else will come with me….by the way can you cook something too?’ I always said yes.

We left one night at about 9:30, the motor clanking and clamoring through the thick, wet fog. Olympia to Point Defiance at 3 knots is a long ride. I sat down below transfixed to the GPS screen. “It says the shoal is to Starboard,” I called up.  David gave a little giggle, “ooooo, really? I don’t see it….”

“It says we are right on it.”

“oh boy.”

We slowed down even more. I popped my head up and felt the mist from the cloud that had descended from the night sky and laid down on the quite sea for a rest. Nothing was visible beyond the mast. “Hummmm. Seems like a problem.”

“Yep,” he chirped, “Anyways….I was just wondering how brave you are feeling?” He rubbed my back in a kind and friendly manner, but I knew better. Then he reached into the side pocket under his coat and pulled out a bottle of Sailor Jerry’s. I didn’t decline, I knew better. One hot swig.

Soon I was harnessed and lined. I made my way up to the bow of the boat. Looking back over my shoulder I could see the foggy ghost of David standing at the helm. “It’s not that dangerous. Just make sure you clip yourself on. I don’t want to loose you, the marina is hard to find alone in the dark.” I would have been hard to find in the dark too.

I clipped. I laid down on the deck looking out under the bowsprit so I could see what little landmines lay ahead of us – channel markers, deadheads, shoals we should have been able to see. The water broke churning, swirling, foaming over the bow and began to sparkle blue-green, like fairy dust. We left a galaxy of of stars behind us in our wake. Bioluminescence. Isn’t that what we all want to have?

I found these wonderful recipes at buzzfeed.com the other day and wanted to share them. They might give you a glow of your own.

1. Mud Cake

1. Mud Cake

2. Banana Rum Cheese Cake

2. Banana Rum Cheese Cake

3. Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce

3. Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce

4. Coconut Spiced Rum Tres Leche Cake

4. Coconut Spiced Rum Tres Leche Cake

5. Chicken Stir Fry

5. Chicken Stir Fry

6. Sweet and Spiced Rum Shrimp

6. Sweet and Spiced Rum Shrimp

7. Steak Sandwich and Sauce

7. Steak Sandwich and Sauce

8. Baked Spiced Rum Plantains

8. Baked Spiced Rum Plantains

9. Spiced Lager Cupcake

9. Spiced Lager Cupcake

10. Butterscotch Pie

10. Butterscotch Pie
Leave a Reply

